1970 Johnson 85HP Thermo Switch Function?

68_Shark

Recruit
I am a newbie with a 1970 Johnson 85 HP on a 1968 Larson Tri-Hull. Got this rig about a month ago, it has some challenges. Engine had been run hot apparently due to bad impeller. Paint is peeled off the head from the heat. I had a pro do the impeller repair, but the engine still needs some TLC. The thermo-switch on the top of the motor, (see picture below) had the wires cut, I assume by previous owner. I got a new one and will install it, but what does it do? I assume it is an auto shut off, but would like to know for sure.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
The switch on top of block has to with the choke.-------Most were disconnected.--------------------On a cold motor the choke would be partially on until the thermo switch opened

68_Shark

Recruit
When you say ...Most were disconnected... can you elaborate. What was the reason that they were disconnected? Am I better off leaving it as is or putting in the new one?

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Since most folks have trouble with using a choke it was an attempt to make the choke more " automatic "--------most were disconnected and dealers would educate owners on how to manually use the electric choke.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
The motor has a two-stage choke solenoid. The thermo switch activates the first stage, partially choking the motor till it is warmed up enough to run w/o choking. The second stage slams the choke tightly shut for a cold start and is under the driver's control. Actually, BOTH stages need to be activated for a cold start.