Can I use a 3 wire tilt and trim motor with the "relay" box.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grassijo

Recruit
Hello all! This is my first time using this site, bear with me. I'm putting a 1979 Johnson 115 on a boat that has 1986 controls. Everything was going great till I got to the trim wires. The t&t on the motor I'm using has 3 wires. Old motor had 2 wires. Can I use the controls and the black box with the relays instead of using the black box with the solenoid? Another words does the controls from the 86 motor work with the 79 motor? And what are the other wires in the black box going for? Thanks for any help you can give me.

Re: Can I use a 3 wire tilt and trim motor with the "relay" box.

Hello all! This is my first time using this site, bear with me. I'm putting a 1979 Johnson 115 on a boat that has 1986 controls. Everything was going great till I got to the trim wires. The t&t on the motor I'm using has 3 wires. Old motor had 2 wires. Can I use the controls and the black box with the relays instead of using the black box with the solenoid? Another words does the controls from the 86 motor work with the 79 motor? And what are the other wires in the black box going for? Thanks for any help you can give me.

if you understand basic wiring then it can be done but will require some rewiring of the relays which shouldnt be to hard. the other wires are for the trim indicator gauges

durban

Master Chief Petty Officer

you can just add another relay if you have the 2 wire set up , the 3rd relay will then be for your negative detach the negative from each relay & make the 3rd relay your negative , as the 2way wire motor when it changes direction either one becomes negative .

cgibbo308

Petty Officer 3rd Class

ok. the 3 wire pump uses 1 relay
2 wire pump uses 2 relays.
so. you are going from a 2 wire pump to a 3. so, this is easy.

because (with evinrude) they decided to only use a relay for "up" and direct wire for down as the weight