Power trim and tilt does not work. help please

tudiebird

Cadet
All of a sudden my power trim and tilt does not work. The switch is located on the shifter/throttle. I was on the bay today and my father was driving and he drove up on the sandbar with the motor trimmed fully down. I don't know if that is the cause but I have a feeling it is. The trim does not at all respond to the switch. Does not click or anything. Worked perfectly before. Please someone help!? Where do I start investigating? Also, please reply fully because this is my first boat and I'm new at this. Thanks

ccnstlr

Seaman
Re: Power trim and tilt does not work. help please

Please indicate the year and hp of motor as a minimum. Put the full model number if possible. This will allow users to look at parts and schematics for your particular motor which will help describe what the boxes, plugs, etc. look like.

tudiebird

Cadet

Its a 1980 115 Johnson outboard on a 1979 Tahiti.

rebuilt

Petty Officer 1st Class

The number needed by members is going to be something on the order of
J115XXXXX, where X is another string of numbers. It will be located on the left of your transom mount looking forward from the rear. It might also be on one of the small freeze-welch plugs on the powerhead on the right side looking forward from the rear. KR

tudiebird

Cadet

I looked and couldn't find that but their is faded away numbers but can not get out what it says.
I just did some investigating and the controls(the throttle and trim) is OMC.