2001 Johnson 70 Carb mixtures

Landon116

Seaman Apprentice
Hey guys,
On my journey of debugging my johnson 70, I'm trying to figure out these carbs. Engine runs great past half throttle, but between 0 and 1/2 its jerky rough and hesitant. So naturally I started playing with the carb mixture screws. Come to find out they are 7 full turns out each, they look like they are about to fall out lol. So I had the boat tied off at the dock and started back at around 1 1/2 turns out and it wont even come close to running .. sneezing and dying. Lean right? I back them out more. I cant even get the idle to smooth out at all, I'm getting no response from the screws hardly. The only way I can get down the river is like 7 turns out, way to rich but it will sort of run.

I'm thinking about rebuilding the carbs, new filters, checking the timing and carb synchronization.

what else am I missing? The p.o removed the vro and replaced the fuel pump to non vro.

thanks guys !

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
I retired in 1991... 10 years before your engine was manufactured... BUT... perhaps the following which pertains to the 3 cylinder 70hp models of my day may be of some use to you (worth a shot). Are those the original carburetors... is this engine new to you?

Hopefully a fellow member can tell you exactly what size jets belong in those carburetors.

(Carburetor Adjustment - Single S/S Adjustable Needle Valve)
(J. Reeves)

Initial setting is: Slow speed = seat gently, then open 1-1/2 turns.

Start engine and set the rpms to where it just stays running. In segments of 1/8 turns, start to turn the S/S needle valve in. Wait a few seconds for the engine to respond. As you turn the valve in, the rpms will increase. Lower the rpms again to where the engine will just stay running.