Estimate question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Estimate question

I took my 1996 Evinrude 130 (E130TLEDM) into the shop because it was only dripping and not peeing like it should. I was told that it doesn't currently have thermostats and that it needs a new water pump.

As I understand it, not having thermostats installed would not cause it not to pee. The only thing that would cause that is if there were thermostats and they were stuck closed, right?

My other question is whether $745 seems like a reasonable estimate to replace the two thermostats and water pump. That's parts and labor. seems a bit high when you consider that a full water pump kit for that motor is about $55. I've done a water pump impeller before and it was a pain, but didn't take longer than an hour to do myself, and I'm no pro. I've lso replaced thermostats and the labor on this motor for that is next-to-nothing.

you are paying shop labor at $120 to $150 per hour, and that includes the diagnostic time.

the water pump is what causes water to flow

the thermostats are what controls the flow of water thru-out the motor

my guess is this is a new to you motor, and you bought it from someone that had water-pump issues (they are supposed to get replaced every few years) and to mask the issue or band-aid it for the sale, they pulled the thermostats.
    Cheesehead boating the Gulf Coast of FLA 27.51° N, 82.53° W

1988 Cruisers Rogue 2420 -VP 290 DP now powered by custom 468 - https://forums.iboats.com/forum/owner...988-rogue-2420

Past Boats
    1970 Wooster Hellion - Merc 9.8
    2002 SeaRay 190BR - 5.0 - A1G2 - "Cheeseheads in Paradise"
    1984 Avanti 170DLI -3.0 stringer- "Ship Happens"

What’s behind you doesn’t matter.Enzo Ferrari

Comment

If it's a salty dog then I pad an hour or two for broken/stuck stuff.
      '47 18' CC Utility "Knock On Wood"
      Various Evinrude powered Pontoons all named "Floosy"

Comment