1968 Evinrude 3hp 3806A lower gear case oil leaking out exhaust erea drain hole

Steelhand

Seaman
There is a small hole next to one of the lower gear case bolts aft of the propeller. If you're looking at the propeller, it's top starboard side. Never knew they had one. I was testing the motor in a tank, I walked away for a few minutes and had oil water when I returned. Any suggestions on what I'm looking at for a repair? Looking at the exploded view in a service manual. I come up with 2 seals plus a water tube grommet. I'm I close? I'm completely new at this but very determined to avoid repair shop. Thanks for any time and consideration on this issue.

Crosbyman

Vice Admiral
is it really gearcase oil...or black goo…... a mix of carbon and unburnt fuel ?

is water getting IN the gearcase ? it should if oil is coming out

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Compare what you see with the actual gear-lube.... It may simply be un-burnt oil mixture dripping down from the powerhead

If oil is leaking from the gear-case, by the same token... water will enter the gearcase.... check it.

Worse case scenario would be the seal under the water pump needs replacing. No big deal.

The water tube grommet has nothing to do with the gearcase lube.

Steelhand

Seaman
Thanks all, It is black goo. I have a feeling it's unburnt fuel oil. I will return when I check the gearcase oil for water.

Steelhand

Seaman
Confirmed! water is present in the gear case. The oil is very runny and light brown.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
That is a separate issue. Black goo is from the exhaust. Runny/brown oil---well when is the last time it was changed? And what was put in it? There is a reason the factory said to change it on a regular maintenance schedule.

Crosbyman

Vice Admiral
well if it is letting water in you have 2 options depending on your usage, abilities and ambitions

a- fix the seals (not to hard really) check utube for demos