1975 Evinrude 115hp Pumping Water

Markoku

Cadet
Hello,
I've recently come into a 1975 Evinrude 115hp outboard. This motor had not been started since 1996. I got it started (cleaned carbs, new sparks) and it runs great now. I'm new to Evinrude's, but I'm conceded that it might not be cooling the heads. I know that this motor does not have a tell-tail, but it?s my understanding that water should come out of the two exhaust ports directly below the powerhead. Right now, a very fine mist comes out, nothing like what gets pumped out of my 1965 18hp Evinrude Fastwin. I have replaced the entire water pump and housing. And when I disconnect the water lines into the heads, water is now pumping (hard). I?m just unsure how much water should be coming out of the exhaust ports, if any at all. I might be over thinking this, but I just don?t want to get out on the river and seize the motor.

Thanks for the help.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
For one thing, you can't compare it to an 18. In the first place, it has a thermostat-controlled recirculating cooling system. Briefly, that means that when the 'stat is closed, the water is returned via a second tube to the pump for recirculating. Then when it is warm enough, the 'stat opens and water is discharged and replaced by cool lake water. The important thing is that the 'stat is constantly sampling the water temp and opens and closes as required to maintain the desired temp.

Having said that, even if the 'stat is closed and in recirculating mode, some water is discharged to keep the exhaust system cool. That "some" water (or a portion of it) is the slight spray you see. When the stat opens, you will see a heavier spray. Saying again, it is not an either-or situation. The process goes on constantly. And at slow speeds with cooler/colder lake water, it may never get warm enough to open at all.

F_R

Supreme Mariner