What sterndrives will fit a chrysler engine?

I have a 69 river queen with 2 really good running 318 engines. I would like to keep them, as we have traveled many miles on these engines. Compression is good oil pressure good, just strong running engines. I have the old Chrysler/Dana out-drives. Finding parts is hard, aquatic rodents like to attack the boots causing bad leaks. I haven't been able to seal them up after they got ate last time so when I fired up last week for a static run, I heard the bearings screaming at me. As I said the engines are excellent just want some modern out-drives. What else can fit without me re-engineering a drive system to fit. I am an experienced welder/fabricator and machinist, so if something is kinda close I can probably modify if needed.

Thanks ALLDodge, They are incredible drives. I like the clutch setup. Let me ask you this,, most drives push from the transom. Dana is the same, I am wondering if I can get a bastard Ujoint and attach maybe a Volvo AQ series drive and still use the original clutch setup. Marysville marine have almost sold out of the dana parts. I called them a while back looking for a clutch pump for my port engine. Those are non existent by the way. I used an air over hydraulic system with an accumulator to hit the clutch cylinders, works really well shift timing is fully adjustable like that using flow/check valves.The strong point of the drives is that clutch system, there is absolutely no banging into gear. The only other drives I have ever dealt with is the OMC stringer, and those boots are worse. I really hope someone else has attempted this and I can learn what to expect before I pull that houseboat out of the water. Surly with chryslers engine reputation other drives have been mated.

alldodge

Staff member
All drives push from the stern and use the transom and stringers to take the load. If you can use a VP drive, I just don't know

Chigwalla

Petty Officer 2nd Class