Buying first bigger boat, things to look for?

Lwapo

Seaman
Hi Everyone!

I have had several boats in my life from smaller "rowboats" that were 12' long, to my 16-18' runabouts with 40 HP motors that I fixed up myself. I'm no expert, but I am pretty good a figuring things out.

That being said...

I'm looking for a slightly larger boat now. I'm going to look at a used boat that is a 21' with a cuddy cabin. This will be my first I/O as well as the biggest boat that I've ever purchased. While it's not an especially high dollar boat, I'd like to do what I can to avoid getting screwed or more importantly... injured!

I'm scared to death that I'll get out on the lake and sink or something crazy like that.

What should I be looking for when I look at the boat?

The boat has a 250 Penta Outdrive, is this a good drive? I know nothing about I/O's but I know that the Volvo stuff is popular.

What else should I look for? The boat APPEARS to be taken care of really really well, but I know that looks can be deceiving.

I know the basics of making him start it, looking at the general condition, looking for cracks/repairs/etc. However, I don't know much else of what to look for beyond standard tire-kicking.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

dan t.

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Buying first bigger boat, things to look for?

The first thing you need to check is the stringers,very important. If you are not sure what to look for I suggest you get a profesional survey, then if the hull is sound get the motor and drive checked, again by a pro. Good luck , hope it works out for you.

JoLin

Vice Admiral

The first thing you need to check is the stringers,very important. If you are not sure what to look for I suggest you get a profesional survey, then if the hull is sound get the motor and drive checked, again by a pro. Good luck , hope it works out for you.