New boat, Volvo SP outdrive, prop does not spin at all.

MountainDew252

Recruit
Hello everyone, I just bought a boat with a 4.3 Volvo Penta and SP CD Trim Outdrive. I have no experience with Inboards. The engine runs fine, but the prop will not turn. I don't hear any clanking or anything from the gears when I move the throttle. The trim doesn't seem to work, so I dont know if that could have anything to do with it or not.

I have not checked the oil in the outdrive, would the prop still turn if it was low on oil? What are some of the first/easiest things I should check?

Thanks a lot for any help.

Lwapo

Seaman
Re: New boat, Volvo SP outdrive, prop does not spin at all.

I'm NO expert.

I would turn off the motor. Put the boat in-gear, then go and see if you can spin the prop.

If you can spin it, there is likely an issue with your shifter.

If you can't, then at least you know that it's getting into gear correctly.

Hope that helps!

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

The drive needs to be down, if necessary, disconnect the trim rams from the back of the drive and let the drive down.
Why haven't you checked the oil? You could have a defective drive, or bad shift cable, or even a bad coupler.
You can remove the back cover of the drive, and see if the shift mechanism is putting the drive all the way into gear.
Check the lower unit oil for metal. (drain a little out of the drive from the bottom to check)
With the engine running, look behind the engine, is the shaft from the back of the engine turning?

billbayliner

Chief Petty Officer

Hello everyone, I just bought a boat with a 4.3 Volvo Penta and SP CD Trim Outdrive. I have no experience with Inboards. The engine runs fine, but the prop will not turn. I don't hear any clanking or anything from the gears when I move the throttle. The trim doesn't seem to work, so I dont know if that could have anything to do with it or not.