Permission to board, please

DonoGrosso

Seaman Apprentice
Howdy,

So, I'm a newbie in every sense. Just bought my first boat (second, but I don't think my 14' aluminum w/ 8hp Evinrude counts on this page!).

Wanted to introduce myself (and my problems). I think I have most of them figured, but there is a wealth of experience here that I can benefit from and hopefully contribute to someday!

Boat ran good ... for a few minutes. Got right up on plane, around 40 mph. Then, started blowing some black smoke from the engine compartment ... I was hoping it was oil burning off from the recent change, but it smelled more like rubber? After I fix the following, I'll be able to start it up again and look into this little issue.

When I slowed down (maybe too fast?), to check out the smoke, it was taking on some water, but not too bad. Puzzled, I hesitantly throttled up again, boat ran fine, but smoke continued.

Slowed down again (probably too fast again, my wake came up on me a bit), and stopped. When I stopped it was really taking on some water. I figure this has to be the bellows (?), the plug was in and the hull appears in great shape. Ordered a transom seal kit and bellows tool, I'll fix these this week. I hope I didn't swamp a missing exhaust flap?

Upon finding too much water in the bilge, I wanted to beeline for the dock and the darn thing suddenly would not go over about 2000 rpm in gear. It'll rev just fine in Neutral, no power in gear. I take it the ignition coil is a good place to start -- ordered that.

So, I'm super stoked to be a boat owner and to have found this great community ... and looking forward to my first transom seal job and associated gear oil change, coil chagne, and my second trip out on the lake!

RogersJetboat454

Commander
Re: Permission to board, please

Howdy,

So, I'm a newbie in every sense. Just bought my first boat (second, but I don't think my 14' aluminum w/ 8hp Evinrude counts on this page!).