1st boat project. All info is welcome.

HM2107

Seaman
Hey everyone this is my first project. I am 17 and i found this website 2 weeks ago and now i am getting a boat to restore. Ok so i am going to go pick up this boat tomorrow and i will post more pictures tomorrow when i pick her up. SO for now i am posting the that the guy listed on the ebay listing.
The boat is a 4.4 meter or 14' 6" Pongrass Fiber glass boat. It has a old 1966 40 hp Johnson on it. The boat uses the older style Pulley and cable steering. The guy has the engine controls, they are now displayed in the picture.
Also i am not keeping the trailer as it would require to much work and money to fix it up so i am just gonna get a second hand trailer.
The seller said he replaced the transom and that the hull is solid and there are no soft spots. But i will throughly inspect it tomorrow. I Paid $250 for eveything and that was the sellers minimum.
Here are the Pics
Picture 6.jpgPicture 11.jpgPicture 7.jpgPicture 12.jpgPicture 9.jpg
Tell me what you think and also i will need lots of info and help from you guys for this Project.
HM2107
P.s i will be making youtube videos as well. and taking lots of pictures to document the process.

Last edited:

MichaelP

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: 1st boat project. All info is welcome.

Well sir welcome to the best site in the world for info on all things boating! Looks like you have a good base to start with and should be fun..Good luck!

That trailer doesn't look so bad. I would first do a compresion check on that OB and find a service manual.

BTW...This your second thread on this topic. The mods may want to delete one.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

HM2107,