'84 Evinrude 115hp Loss of Power

'83Crestliner

Seaman Apprentice
Hey All. I am new to this game and have much to learn! I recently bought a Crestliner and it has an '84 Evinrude 115 on it. The motor is pretty clean, compressions are 115 - 120 on all, and i just replaced the spark plugs from the old ones it had (wrong ones at that). I have taken the boat out a couple of times now and everything runs great for about the first 30 - 40mins and then i get a segnificant loss of power. The motor starts to sound rough, and it tries to get through it, but it cannot. It seems like if you cut the motor for a bit (30mins +) it comes back strong, but only for a short period then hesitates and so on. The motor will even start to vabrate the boat bad, thats how rough the running can get on it. I have looked at some of the posts already made to see if i could pin point something, but have not seen that similar of a situation. Is this a Ignition Package issue?

Thanks!

RJ17

Cadet
Re: '84 Evinrude 115hp Loss of Power

I don't have an answer for you but I have an '89 140 hp Evinrude on a boat that I purchased 2 weeks ago. This weekend I had power issues similar but perhaps unrelated to yours. My engine would vary in RPMs, some times dropping without a shift in the throttle, sometimes over revving without any increase in thrust. When the RPMs dropped thrust would drop too. When over revving thrust did not change or dropped some. Not sure if this is fuel issue, a lower unit issue or what. Hope it isn't an Evinrude issue!

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner