1997 Larson 186 Losing power and stalling

DeaconBlues

Seaman Apprentice
I just purchased a 1997 Larson 186 LXI with a Volvo Penta 3.0 liter I/O. The boat randomly loses power (hesitates, RPM drop) at various speeds and stalls out quite a bit at idle. It always restarts immediately. This happens on both a cold and warm engine. It does not appear to be related to speed or temperature. I'm sure its a fuel issue of some kind. The previous owner had the fuel pump replaced last season (so he says). Could be a carburator issue which I am confident I could pull and rebuild. But before I do all that, are there any other quick troubleshoots I should do first. This is my first boat, but I do have some experience working on engines (cars and bikes), so not a total novice here.

Tried to search, but I am not finding much and I can't get the advanced search to load.

Thanks in advance for any advice/tips you guys have.

-Joe

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1997 Larson 186 Losing power and stalling

Howdy,

The only time I had a problem like that was when I had debris in the tank. it would clog (intermittently) the fuel pickup screen.

Your best bet for a suspected fuel blockage problem is to start at the tank fuel pick-up and work towards the carb.

If it's an old boat, or a boat with a fiberglass tank, there could be other problems with E10 fuel exacerbating the problem (fiberglass interaction with E10). Cleaning everything helps. If you have a fiberglass tank, you may have to replace it (if that's possible)

Cheers,

Rick

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,... Start by checking,+ changing the Fuel Filters...

DeaconBlues

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks for the help so far. At this point I do not think it is fuel system related. Heres the UPDATE!!

So I believe I was wrong the first time. The problem only seems to happen when the engine reaches operating temperature. So now I am leaning toward something ingnition related? Any thoughts.

The engine is again is a volvo penta 3.0 GS PLKD