tashsadaddy? anyone please help engine wont start!

let me start by saying that im new to boating and have been out twice in 1992 180 nitro fs with a 150 hp johnston evinrude out board -i have owned it for 2 months- each tirp ive been on i was with a friend who is a boat mechanic - he is pretty much retired as he is now working at the hospital and says that at 60 he is to old to be working in the heat and tight spaces -i can only imagine-i do not question him as he is the expert but the more i read here-i start to doubt some of his ideas - for example we have had trouble starting the motor and he used ether both times to get it started- but i have read on this site many times to never use ether! if so why not and what should i use? both times we went out he started the motor and after some maintenance -he gave me the ok to strike out on my own next time- well i got out there today by myself with wife and backed down the ramp - i turned the the key and primed it at the ignition while it was turning over - now he told me to turn the key and not to stop priming until it started about( prime about 10 times) i did this and then remembered i had not squeezed the primer bulb so i did that until it was hard- then reapeated the process 2 more times - still the motor was turning over well- but would not start and i had it in high neutral as instructed -i removed the cowling from the motor and turned the manual primer a couple of times but same result! now both times we have been out the motor was difficult to start but once it was running and was shut off - it would crank up on the first try and purred like a kitten - it is the initial start that is very difficult - he came out to where i was and removed the spark plugs and said these plugs are wet and that means you flooded the motor-he left the plugs out and and told me to buy new ones as these were very black inside and we dont know how long they have been in there- he told me to leave the cowling off over night to help th