What's this drain plug for? (King Cobra)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mile9c1

Cadet
Sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm a complete newbie.

I think I messed up. I have an OMC King Cobra sterndrive and I removed the left side plug that is hidden beneath the round "King Cobra" sticker on the lower unit. The sticker was missing so I didn't realize the plug wasn't supposed to be removed (I just realized it's supposed to have this sticker on both sides).

Anyway, this plug must have thraded into a nut... the nut fell fell into the housing so I can't screw it back in. Is there an easy way to get this nut out? I'm guessing not:(

How critical is this plug/nut? Can I use my boat with this plug out??

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner
Re: What's this drain plug for? (King Cobra)

Oh man! You didn't really do that did you? Only way to fix it is to pull the drive and shake that nut out and reinstall the plug. As a temporary fix you can put a rubber plug in there until you fix it properly. I believe you need to have it plugged up.

By the way, you are not the first person to do that. Do a search and you will find many.

JustJason

Vice Admiral

you need to pop the top cap off and pull it out and rethread the plug into it. If you try and run the motor your going to chew through a gear set.

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

Jason,

You sure about that? It should be just a waterway.

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner

I think I messed up. I have an OMC King Cobra sterndrive and I removed the left side plug that is hidden beneath the round "King Cobra" sticker on the lower unit.
Uh, yep. You screwed up. :eek:

You removed the "Never remove this screw"-- screw!
toothlessgiggler.gif
{sorry!!}

Even the OMC service manual doesn't help you on this one. (It doesn't even mention it)

All kidd'n aside, Yes you dropped a nut into the drive.