An outboard from the Garbage - but will it run again?

samo_ott

Vice Admiral
Re: An outboard from the Garbage - but will it run again?

My wife gave up giving me the look when on this site over a thousand posts ago! :)

Theoutdoorsman

Senior Chief Petty Officer

My wife gave up giving me the look when on this site over a thousand posts ago! :)

WOW!!! Only 900 more to go for me. Then maybe I'll not get the evil eye anymore!!!............... :)

All kidding aside, I look forward to hearing more on this outboard. Update when you can............... ALAN

jay_merrill

Vice Admiral

LOL, I'm bummed because now I'm back at the bottom of the heap by being a lowly Ensign! I liked bein' a salty old Master Chief better! Now that I'm an officer and a gentleman, I guess I'll have to stop foolin' with women who are half my age and use proper English!

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm ....

NAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW! :D

samo_ott

Vice Admiral

Jay, keep posting and you can be an old salty dog again soon!

jay_merrill

Vice Admiral

That was a totally useless post purely for the purposes of post count padding!

(As was this one!)

JamieScott

Cadet

Hey again

So here's a bit of an update.

The OMC service manual that Alan found for me on ebay arrived the other day all the way from your neck of the woods to OZ. It's great to have the exact manual for this engine - you're all correct to advise this.

Jay was indeed correct that the Gasket, plate, "O" ring, seal, spring and washer are in fact located in the top of the exhaust housing - very clear in the manual.

I've managed to get hold of most of the parts that I need to go about trying to put the Seahorse back together. I found a marine shop not far from where I live and to my amazement they had the Exhaust housing gasket, crankshaft lower main bearing seal, "O" ring and gasket in stock. The last ones in each envelope!