Do I Need brakes on my boat trailer?

Rookster

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hello everyone, I'm a total rookie to boating and am about to buy my very first boat. iBoats has been a wealth of knowledge and hope I can eventually contribute too! But for now, I only have questions.

Here's my situation: My tow vehicle has a tow capacity of 3,500 pounds, with trailer brakes. Without trailer brakes, it drops to 1,500 pounds. I assume this means that the Vehicle (crossover SUV), has capacity to pull, but brakes are insufficient. Before is spend up to $1,000 on brakes for a trailer that is almost 20yrs old (albeit, in good condition), I want be sure.

The boat is a 2,200 pound Bowrider and the trailer weight, I assume, is about another 600 pound at most.

I need to tow from the dealership to my trailer park, which is about 200 miles. Very few hills, and only mild ones. Then it's just putting the trailer and boat in/out of the water every weekend for about three or four months, and also the trips to a nearby marina for servicing twice a year.

Can this be done without trailer brakes, without risk to my vehicle, or others, strain, etc? Anyone ever done this? All opinions are most appreciated. Cheers!

KD4UPL

Senior Chief Petty Officer
First I'd check to see if the laws in your state require trailer brakes. With the weight you're talking about plus batteries, fuel, boat gear, etc. I think you'll probably be required to have brakes.
Even if you're not, your tow vehicle's information apparently is telling you that you need them. So, what's the question really?
I'd want them. In an emergency stop situation I think without trailer brakes you would likely jackknife your little tow vehicle.

Lou C

Supreme Mariner
I'd add brakes boats always weigh more that what we estimate. Keep in mind that your vehicle is certified to safely stop its own weight plus it's full payload. In fact it's possible that the boat could come close to the weight of the tow vehicle.