1989 Bass Tracker Fiberglass full restoration.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mogfisher

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hello. I've posted bits and pieces on here but I figured I'd do a full resto thread and make it official. To this point I've gotten the cap off, the floors and foam out and a new transom glued in, waiting for glass. I've never done this before, so please, if you see me doing something stupid, let me know! I'll post some pics in a time line from when I started. Not much was rotten except for the front floor, but it all was SATURATED including all foam and transom. Every piece of wood is getting replaced. Some of you may remember some of them from some questions I had about certain things. Let me know what you think!

ry%3D400

Crappy cluttered pic of whole boat.

ry%3D400

Cap off! Notice the peeling up floor on the left side of pic.

ry%3D400

The cap is flipped so I can replace the main cockpit floor and front deck area. Later I'll flip it again and finish off the top half.

ry%3D400

Tearing apart the transom. Notice the patchwork scraps on the two side panels. These photos started a heated debate on here whether it was acceptable or not. You will see my decision on the matter below.

mogfisher

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1989 Bass Tracker Fiberglass full restoration.

ry%3D400

Here is where I'm at now. I used a mix of poly resin, milled fibers, glass bubbles and cabosil to adhere the panels to the outer skin. Same for the "fillets" around the edges. Should be ready for glassin now. I plan to use some 6" 1708 tape for every seam and edge, then layers of mat/woven. If you look in the background you can see my roll of 18oz woven. Think I've got enough? lol.

ry%3D400

ry%3D400

This is that funky cut I was asking about on another thread. I think it came out just fine. Boy was it a bugger. My table saw was not happy with me at all!