1975 StarCraft SS

chads

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Sorry but I posted this same topic in another section of the forum yesterday. I thought it was best to move it over here because I will be starting to ask a lot of repair and how to questions. Correct me if this is not right or should be done another way. After searching for a while I finally brought a boat home. Its a 18 ft 1975 StarCraft SS with a 1975 Johnson stinger 75hp and sits on an 05 load rite trailer. The engine started easily and ran good and the trailer is in great condition. The boat is useable but is in need of some TLC and repair. The center floor area in the bow is springy and the splash well cover has about a 1/16 to 1/8 inch gap between itself and the transom. The transom feels solid but im no expert. I need to put an electric motor on it for use on an electric only lake 2 miles from my house. I have not decoded yet how to approach any repairs yet. One part of me wants to use it for a season and then tear into it, the mechanic in me says to fix everything I know is wrong first. Any opinions or advice on this issue? I also need some advice on the trolling motor. How much thrust would I need to move this thing around on some inland state park lakes? Im not looking to set any records but would like to not worry about getting back to the dock. That leads to the next question: should I focus on 12v or 24v? I know the advantages of each but also don't want to have a dead battery in a couple of hours. I currently have a small minn kota 30lb thrust 12v for my 14 foot car topper but for the new ride I was thinking about a bow mount. All advice or opinions are greatly appreciated

Attachments

• photo230954.jpg
    photo230954.jpg
    108.3 KB · Views: 5
  • photo230987.jpg
    photo230987.jpg
    274.5 KB · Views: 2
Last edited by a moderator:

jbcurt00

Staff member
If you ask, topics can be moved.

I closed the brought it home topic and linked this one.

jbcurt00

Staff member