Won't run on plane

211libwtfo

Petty Officer 1st Class
Took out the 1988 211 liberator yesterday ran great then started to miss a lil on a 10 mile cruise up river then on the way back it would plane up then shortly after would back fire and die. Lil hard start but would, It would only run at a fast idle for 10 miles. I'm thinking timing but not sure. Any suggestions. Thanks newbie here to a bigger boat.

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner
Took out the 1988 211 liberator yesterday ran great then started to miss a lil on a 10 mile cruise up river then on the way back it would plane up then shortly after would back fire and die. Lil hard start but would, It would only run at a fast idle for 10 miles. I'm thinking timing but not sure. Any suggestions. Thanks newbie here to a bigger boat.

Hey, I have one of those! (mine is a 1987 211 Liberator!!)

Things to check will be fuel related. On mine, I removed the fuel tank completely cleaned it out. luckily, mine was free of water and debris. I did replace the vent hose and through deck fitting and I put a new gage sender in it..

Fuel pickup screen. you have to remove the rear seat (completely) and remove the cover over the rear of the tank. There's a fine mesh screen at the end of the fuel pickup inside the tank. while you have that out, you can replace the anti-siphon check valve.

Fuel vent. If the vent is plugged with debris or bugs etc, the fuel pump will not be able to draw fuel out of the tank for very long until the pump suction equals the fuel tank vacuum. if you remove the fuel filler cap right when the engine dies, and you hear a loud sucking sound..... It's air rushing back into the tank!!

Then inspect/replace the flexible hose that goes from the anti-siphon valve to the fuel filter. (Those hoses if old enough will slough off debris inside and it'll end up clogging your fuel filter)