which pitch is what?

DaverDog

Cadet
Ok im new to boating and id just like to know the differance between the pitches...example 10 pitch versus 20 pitch and so on.does it have to do with speed or or what?...what do the differant pitches do for the boat?..ok thanx

DaverDog

Cadet
Re: which pitch is what?

tom i didnt find what what i was looking for but thanx for the thread anyways.I sure am having a hard time finding out how the differant pitches affect the boats performance..arghhh!!!

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner

Think of the pitch like the rear end ratio of a car except in this case the bigger the number the taller the gear. Changing pitch is like changing the gears. Switching to higher pitch in a given prop line puts a greater load on the engine, resulting in slower acceleration and a lower final top rpm. Going with less pitch lighens the load and results in quicker acceleration and a higher top rpm. It might or might not result in a difference in top speed. I have found, if the engine remained in the recommended rpm range, changing pitches in a given line of props resulted in only minimal, if any differences in top speed. Changes from one line of props to another can have different results in final speeds, handling and acceleration

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner