Where there is a will there is a way

mynorac

Cadet
For anybody who has an old boat that really wants to fix it but can?t afford new major parts there is hope! You may want to read my other posts so that you have a little background. My boat is a 1969 Sabre Craft with a 120/140hp engine that has an 8 spline drive shaft in the lower gear casing assembly. I only paid $1,300.00 for the boat, trailer, and other miscellaneous stuff that the previous owner through in deal.

The boat ran fine and I had it out on a nearby lake soon after getting it home. You need to know that I am a newbie at motor boats. However, I am 68 years old, a Vietnam Vet and have been around mechanical stuff my whole adult life. I am not a mechanic but worked as an electrical engineer for 40 years.

This boat fit my needs as it has sliding fiberglass canopy that fits over the helm section of the boat providing perfect protection from the sun, rain, and shelter for my dogs. Being a newbie I knew enough to drain the water from the engine but I never thought to check the sterndrive. It gets cold in Montana and somehow water got into the lower gear case section of the sterndrive. Of course the water froze and the sterndrive cracked ? see the photos in my other posts.

So I joined several forums and started asking questions about what to do. I got good answers but the most sensible at the time was to get another lower assembly. I called several places and was willing to purchase good used unit. The problem is that Mercruiser redesigned a lot between 1969 and 1970. From 1970 on there are considerable options but because my drive shaft is 8 spline and not 13, my options are: Spend a lot more money, get rid of the boat and cut my losses, or repair it myself. I chose the latter because I really want to keep the boat.