VRO 3 wire help?

gholems

Seaman Apprentice
Hello All,

I have a 1985 Johnson v4 90 HP outboard that I purchased. I am new to this and I am trying to learn. The vro pump has three wires in a plug adapter: (Black Grey and I think yellow it is faded) that are just hanging there. Were do I plug them into? From what i have read on this forum is this is the old school version but no explanation on were these go. Only the 4 wire ones have explanations.

Any help on this would be great.

gholems

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: VRO 3 wire help?

The 3 wire version has been superseded at least a hlaf dozen times and is obsolete. Being unplugged, the warning system is not functional.

If you mix the oil with the gas (permix), you are simply using the VRO as a fuel pump. Is the oil line and oil tank still connected or has it been removed and the oil line to the VRO plugged?

If you just purchased that engine, obtain a full explanation from the seller as to exactly what has he done in terms of converting that VRO system if any.

gholems

Seaman Apprentice

Hi,

Thanks for the quick reply. I asked and he said the vro ran and he must of unplugged it by accident when he was taken the motor of his. Yes the vro system is still plugged in the way it is suppose to. I checked in the manual and on line and it matches. It is just the wires that are there that are not doing anything. I was able to start the system when I bought it but sence then I brought it home and have been going over the manual and replace hoses if cracked and regular maintenance to make sure it is clean. Want to make sure everything is plugged in and no leaks.

Regards
Gholems

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner

Be very cautious. I find it hard to believe that anyone could possibly unplug a VRO pump by accident, especially one that old.

What the seller has done is to eliminate the VRO warning that would sound the horn if the VRO failed and stopped pumping the correct amount of oil.