VHF Marine Radio Help/Info...

jstaz

Seaman
Hey guys,
I want to take my boat to the rigs in the Gulf of Mexico near the Alabama coast. I have a fish finder but it is a older model and doesn't have GPS. I always have my cell phone with me but worry it will not/may not work out there. I have all safety equipment required by law. I keep my equpiment well maintained. I think that is enough back info.

Now... I am new to the marine radio thing and need info. I know the more watts you have the further the radio reaches. I also know that there are radios with tons of options. GPS, Emergency/Distress buttons, Weather Channel, Ect. However, What would be the best options? Or MUST HAVE options.

Should I get a radio with GPS since I don't have a finder with one? Or get a finder with GPS and radio without? How strong of a radio should I get? I know 1 watt is not enough. What would be? Any formula for 1 watt = ??? miles of travel for signal? Should I get handheld or a mounted unit? I know mounted unit are stronger. What else do I need other than just the radio? How big of an antenna do I need?

I know I have a ton of questions. Sorry for that. Any help would be great. Thank you all in advance for your help.

Prattville

Cadet
Re: VHF Marine Radio Help/Info...

I use this VHF Radio on my boat http://www.basspro.com/Cobra-F45D-Class-D-Marine-Radio/product/10210164/-1754646, but also have it connected to my GPS, which makes it repeat my coords over the air waves. I have never had any issues with it. This radio will give you roughly a 29 mile range. The highest VHF Radio you can obtain is 25 watts; at least by law. Make sure you have all you need to last a day if you intend to travel very far. No one ever plans to get stranded, but it happens to the best of us. I hope this helps :D!

jhebert

Ensign

I also know that there are radios with tons of options.