Strange 'backfiring' issue

andrewdouv

Cadet
I'm by no means a boat mechanic but I've spent a lot of time wrenching on these V4's and have come across an unfamiliar issue.
Not sure what its called, but the gold port shown in the picture, (on the head, to the left of starter) shoots fire during the backfire. Also sprays some fuel at the same time.

What is this called? Is it an exhaust relief port or something like that? What do I do to fix this?
Also I have 2 weak coils on the motor currently. They're coils that went bad on another motor, and I epoxy'd them, got good resistance readings and stuck em on this motor just so I could start really working on it (I'm very cheap).

Will new coils fix this do you think?
This motor is new to me and didn't have this problem when I got her running the first day with new coils. Today is day2 and suddenly its sneezing and backfirin and shootin fire.

Really hoping I don't have to open up the head

Attachments

• photo218629.jpg
    photo218629.jpg
    98.5 KB · Views: 0

andrewdouv

Cadet
To clarify: When I say ran well first day with new coils, I meant ran well the first day I put my rebuilt crap coils on there. And day 2 with rebuilt crap coils I began getting backfire

boobie

Supreme Mariner
Put some decent coils on it. If that doesn't do it, check your flywheel key.

andrewdouv

Cadet
Put some decent coils on it. If that doesn't do it, check your flywheel key.
Will pull good coils from my primary boat (same motor) to try. Anyone know what the gold oriface is from my original post? If I had a bad coil and was firing on three cylinders, why would the excess gas be shot out of here. Furthermore, why was it igniting on its way out the hole?

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner