Storing anchor and line up front in small boat

thomsonr

Cadet
I have a small older 17' bowrider. Upfront I have three storage spots under the seats which I use for life jackets. (See pic). Like many older small boats I don't have a lot of storage

What would you suggest for storing an anchor up front with 75'+ line? I'm new to boating, at present the anchor is sitting in the back of the boat. I used it for the first time today and spent 20mins trying to untangle it.

I was thinking along the lines of running the line through the front attachment at the bow(not a cleat) and coiling it neatly perhaps in some kind of container at the front on the floor, then laying the anchor on top.

Then when I wanted to use it I could lower the anchor and reel out line as needed.

Attachments

• dash_small.jpg
    dash_small.jpg
    57 KB · Views: 6

rwidman

Lieutenant
Re: Storing anchor and line up front in small boat

I have a small older 17' bowrider. Upfront I have three storage spots under the seats which I use for life jackets. (See pic). Like many older small boats I don't have a lot of storage

What would you suggest for storing an anchor up front with 75'+ line? I'm new to boating, at present the anchor is sitting in the back of the boat. I used it for the first time today and spent 20mins trying to untangle it.

I was thinking along the lines of running the line through the front attachment at the bow(not a cleat) and coiling it neatly perhaps in some kind of container at the front on the floor, then laying the anchor on top.

Then when I wanted to use it I could lower the anchor and reel out line as needed.

Lots of people use plastic tubs for this purpose. It's best if there are holes so the rode can dry out.

The end without the anchor is called the "bitter end". Make sure it is secured to the boat.

Pez Vela

Chief Petty Officer