Steering Question?

nailsetter54

Cadet
I just install a new steering system on my boat which was a no feed back system.When I had it all done i notice that the outboard motor seems to turn more (sharper) in one direction than the other. I did not notice what it did before I changed the steering system.(needed two hand and then some to turn the wheel before)Is this normal on boats or is there some kind of adjustment that i might be able to do to make it turn sharper or same in both directions.I am new to boating so any infor. would be great. Thanks in advance.

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner
Re: Steering Question?

Did you center the cables and the motor?

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner

You can remove the steering pinion from the cable and move the engine whichever direction you need to help and solve this problem. Then reattach the wheel.<br /><br />On tension, there (is on mine) a tensioning nut under the console (the plastic boot between the wheel and the dash) that you can tighten to eliminate this problem.<br /><br />If you still have trouble, get on www and contact Morse Teleflex. Tell them what your problem is and they can help.<br /><br />Mark

nailsetter54

Cadet

Thanks for the info but dont quite know what you are calling the steering pinion. If you could explain a little more it would be great. thanks again.

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner