starting an electromatic

55'Fleetwin7.5

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hi,

I am new to this type of motor/control... I am most familiar with 1955-1957 mechanical transmission... I have a 1965 starflite 90s... I put the throttle in the start position... flicked the electric choke twice and turned the key... after a short bit it fired and idled... I pressed the "F" and got the prop moving... tried to throttle up but it felt resistant... I looked for some button/release/safety, but saw none... I am not one to force things, but I applied a bit more pressure.. The throttle moved forward and made a clicking sound (like a ratchet)... The engine speed increased... I throttled back and the engine did not seem to be slowing, so I shut down the key... After a few seconds, I attempted again, but when I turned the key... nothing. I checked the throttle position and it was in "start" range. The Neutral button was depressed.... What am I doing wrong?... The previous owner said the battery was low... I placed it on a charger... What tips can you give me to correct this? Any thoughts? Thanks, Tom

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: starting an electromatic

there is a safety, if the throttle is pushed too far forward you get nothing. i believe there is a knob you can turn to adjust the tension on the control handle.

F_R

Supreme Mariner

there is a safety, if the throttle is pushed too far forward you get nothing. i believe there is a knob you can turn to adjust the tension on the control handle.

It is a "Selectric Shift" control, not an Electramatic.

You may have a broken throttle cable. Check at the motor and see if it moves when you operate the remote control. If it isn't pulling the motor back to slow speed position, it won't start.

As you move the control lever forward there is a "bump" feel at a certain position. That is the start position. It should not start at higher settings.