SOMETHING BROKE TODAY...Need help please

GaJeff

Petty Officer 2nd Class
81 Citation 19ft, 120merc 4cyl. MC1 Outdrive.

Went for a ride today with a fellow boater in case I needed a tow... Well I did. Today was actually the farthest I've taken the boat. I was going at WOT about 30mph and all of a sudden I lost all power and the engine revved up to 4500 before I shut it down. I checked to make sure I didn't lose my prop and it was there so... What happened? I can put it in gear and to forward at idle but any more and the engine just speeds up. So it is going in gear but won't go any faster than idle. I thought my shaft at the gimbal bearing broke but my prop still spins.

I haven't had the chance to ever open a sterndrive up so I'm not familiar as to how they work. I'm a diesel mechanic so I can in fact do the repairs I've just never worked on boats before so this is all new to me. Any help is appreciated in advance.

Jeff

bigdaddypt

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: SOMETHING BROKE TODAY...Need help please

I could be wrong, but it sounds like you spun your prop hub. Do you have another prop to try? When it's happened to me in the past, it reminded me of a slipping car transmission.

ktbarrentine

Lieutenant

Sounds like you either spun your prop hub, or blew your engine coupling (either the coupling itself, or the shaft splines). Did you notice any change in water temp after the "incident" A spun prop hub would still get you good impeller flow. Coupling problems would cause loss of water flow to the engine. I'm leaning towards a spun hub, since a coupling problem would probably leave you with no prop spin at all. You should mark the prop shaft and the prop, take it for a "spin" and see if the marks move. (and you need to do this test in the water... you cant do this at home on muffs...

fishrdan

Admiral

Sounds like a prop with a spun hub, holds at idle speed, but slips under power.

GaJeff

Petty Officer 2nd Class