Slow Cranking '86 125hp

tony4pyro

Cadet
I have a 1986 Force 125hp. The engine is cranking over very slow, almost like the battery is dead. I checked the battery and it has 12V. I tested the voltage (bear with me, I am no electrical expert) where the battery cables come into the engine compartment. (A little round, black box that the juice passes thru to get to the starter-I do not know what this part is). I have 12V there, which leads me to believe the battery cables are fine, but when I had my son hit the key and I tested right on the starter terminals, we only had 4-5V. What is the problem? Is it the starter or the little black box that the current passes thru? Somebody please help me because I am a little electrically illiterate when it comes to outboards. Is the little black box the starter relay?

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: Slow Cranking '86 125hp

A fully charged 12 volt battery should be close to 13 volts.
That said clean and check all connections especially the grounds.
a bad connection can read full voltage yet not be able to conduct any real current.You can take jumper cables connect to a good ground n the block then carefully touch the positive cable to the terminal on the starter.
should spin over good.let us know what you find.

tony4pyro

Cadet

OK- I ran a direct lead to the starter and it still cranks over slow. Does that mean that the starter is bad? If so, is there anything that would cause it to go bad, because the people I bought it from said that the starter is new? (I suppose they could have been lying, but if they were telling the truth, could something be frying the starter prematurely?) I know sometimes you can get a defective electrical part, but what are the odds of that?

steelespike

Supreme Mariner