Shifting Problems

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
UNCLE!!!!
I freely admit it..IAM a DUMB OLD OKIE!!!! I've been working on this shifter for over a week and I give up!!!! I'm calling on all iBoaters to help me out. I can NOT for the life of me figure it out. I've had it apart 50 times. I'm an EXPERT at replacing the spring and ball bearing and if you've ever worked on one of these controls you'll know what I'm talking about!!!! :D I've replaced all the broken parts (#95 Shift Gear was told it was the most common since it's plastic) and have poured over the schematic to ensure that it's all there. It appears to work as it should but..I can't get the motor to shift and throttle as it should. With the cables off, I can manually shift the motor into forward or reverse with ease!!!! I have posted the pic of the connections as they were when I got the motor but Like I said I am a dumb okie and did not pay attention to what cable went where. But I've tried em both on both places and it still does not seem to work. I am totally bumfuzzled!!!!

This is the shifter that I have...