Resto on hold - have a couple questions

Booberdoo

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1974 15' Chrysler Hydro-Vee Sport Fisherman. This boat is a perfect fit for my needs in a small boat. The 70 HP Johnson is enough to get me around and pull a skier or tube.

The boat is in decent shape although it is showing its age. I do know the transom has rot in it, confined to the upper port side behind the tow hook. Now before everyone screams that it needs to be replaced now, please keep in mind that I am a Structural Engineer by trade and am aware of the forces / stresses involved, its just that I work with buildings not boats. I took some time calculating the resistance that the boat incurrs in the water when loaded, with and without a skier and pretty much every variable I could think of. Then using calclated thrust of the engine I was able to determine an appx stress loading that the transom is subject to in various situations. From there it was a simple matter of applying stress to the transom utilizing a stress gauge. I am confident in its safety for the season.

My question lies more in the tow hook area. I was thinking if I took a painted piece of 1/4 ply and sistered it in behind the transom it would reinforce the tow hook area enough to feel safe hooking a bridle to. What do you think? The girls are wanting to go skiing and tubing and they are getting upset with me because I refuse to hook up... I don't need irritated girls...

Also, I saw mentioned in another thread that Chrysler utilized all foam and no stringers in their boats; does this apply to mine also? I do not have a bilge so I assume this to be true? Personally, when winter hits I would like to install stringers and a bilge during the resto.

I will resurrect this thread when the resto commences, but I would appreciate some insight into the few questions I have asked just to get me through the season safely.