Replacing 9.9 shift rod seal

Old outboard dude

Seaman Apprentice
I have an 81 9.9 hp that I have determined oil is leaking of the shift rod seal. I am wondering how to replace it, hopefully without damaging anything, and also I need to know what to buy for it, or exactly what parts need to be replaced. thanks.

gm280

Supreme Mariner
There are three pieces to replace your shift rod seal.

An "O" ring P/N 0301877,
A bushing P/N 0304765
And a washer/seal P/N 0321738.

All those will need to be replace to seal off properly. And you can probably buy them here on iboats part section probably cheaper then most anywhere else as well.

Of course you will need to drop the foot section to get to those parts and remove them to replace. It would be a great time to replace the water impeller/pump at the same time and change the foot oil as well. JMHO

racerone

Supreme Mariner
!/4" threaded rod and a nut on the inside.----Grind hex off the nut.

bwkre

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'm not a mechanic but I've done two of the bushings. So this is just how I did it,