Repitching Rude 8 1/2" X 9" aluminum prop

jauguston

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am pushing a 12' Crestliner jon with a 8hp 1985 Evinrude and we are loading the engine a little heavy at WOT. Is there a shop in NW Washington that can take a little pitch out of it. I have searched for a lower pitch prop and can't seem to find anything between it and the 8"X7" that will be too small.

Jim

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: Repitching Rude 8 1/2" X 9" aluminum prop

I'm no expert but it would seem if an 8 X 7 will be too small that your not loading it that heavy.Do you have rpm figures? Rpm range on the 8hp is 5,000 to 6,000.If you don't have a tach you can get a tiny tach easy to install
about $40.

jauguston

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Spike,

The service manual says 4500-5500 and I haven't stuck my Tiny Tach on it yet. It just has that too much prop sound. I want to be in the upper part of the RPM range. Any info on a shop in this area than can depitch the stock prop.

Jim

steelespike

Supreme Mariner

Spike,

The service manual says 4500-5500 and I haven't stuck my Tiny Tach on it yet. It just has that too much prop sound. I want to be in the upper part of the RPM range. Any info on a shop in this area than can depitch the stock prop.

Jim

My after market manual says 4,500 to 5,500 on the 7.5 and 5,000 to 6,000
on the 8hp.I think if you check your actual rpm you'll be able to tell where your at better. If you want to be at the upper end it would seem to me your allready pretty close if you feel a 2 in. change in pitch is too much.
Does the boat plane now?If it doesn't then I don't see a 7 inch pitch being a threat to over rev.

jauguston

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Spike,

I am using the 4.5-7.5 OMC manual and was told here the 8 was the same as the 7.5 just with a different way of rating the power. I see the 8hp four stroke is rated for 5000-6000. I wonder if that is what your book is refering to.