rebuilding ski boat

dcpcccrc

Seaman
could anyone help me, i came across a 20 foot sunbird for real cheap that needs new engine block and interior i am in this cheap enough that i am going to build the interior as i have on other boats in the past, although i have never built a sunpad over the motor before. I would like to know ideas on what to make this out of and how to support it for everyday use of walking on it to get on and off the boat should i use plywood or what. I usually use the old junky material and copy it to specs but i dont want a doghouse with two seats i want a sunpad with a row of seats and two captains chairs rather than the traditional fold out boat seat. i could build a great boat if i can just figure out what to use to make and support the sunpad. The rest of the boat will come pretty easy to me but with this i dont want to have to redo it because it wasn't strong enough to hold someone sitting on it. thanks in advance for the help

gdburch

Cadet
Re: rebuilding ski boat

Cool idea. I've thought about doing what your doing. You could grab a camera, tape measure, and note pad and check out a few boats with a sun pad.

CZSteve

Seaman