Re-powering a soon to be mine chieftain.

reorod

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Its that new guy REOROD again. I'm a mechanic but not a (marine mechanic) and I,m thinking of repowering the boat in mind, (STARCRAFT CHIEFTEN 22ft-24ft) with an alternate engine from Rapido but guide me with marine wisdom with tech that will save me nightmares and good parts availability. According to the quick decricptions from Rapido: (Marine engine in Florida) the true marine engines will fit all mercruiser outdrives. Concidering GM 4.3v6 as replacement for 120 for 165 that exist in chieftains. Is weight an issue with this engine, heat/air circulation, etc. Please help as I,m putting a road-map for restoration together and need the welth of tech info from this forum. If this is not the correct area please direct me.

CheapboatKev

Vice Admiral
Re: Re-powering a soon to be mine chieftain.

Its that new guy REOROD again. I'm a mechanic but not a (marine mechanic) and I,m thinking of repowering the boat in mind, (STARCRAFT CHIEFTEN 22ft-24ft) with an alternate engine from Rapido but guide me with marine wisdom with tech that will save me nightmares and good parts availability. According to the quick decricptions from Rapido: (Marine engine in Florida) the true marine engines will fit all mercruiser outdrives. Concidering GM 4.3v6 as replacement for 120 for 165 that exist in chieftains. Is weight an issue with this engine, heat/air circulation, etc. Please help as I,m putting a road-map for restoration together and need the welth of tech info from this forum. If this is not the correct area please direct me.

You can get some advice here...But I tell ya amigo..
The Mercruiser/OMC forum is where the schmarty pants hang out..
Actually Bond-O did this swap in a Starcraft himself, though he personally doesnt spend much time here in the SC forum.

I dont know much, trust me on that but.......

My INSTANT take is NO...not all drives are a perfect matches..