Re-decking my boat and need help!

MwBowhunter

Recruit
Now I know that this has probably been discussed a million times on here and ya'll are probably real tired of having it posted....BUT i have a 16' Sea Nymph "Fishing Machine" and I'm in the process of redecking it. Floors were rotten in spots and carpet was shot so i figured I'd rip it all out and start over. Found out that beyond the crap carpet and the rotten flooring the genius who previously redecked this boat had used spray foam, probably from a can, and laid the flooring before it was expanded completely. Now for my question....what am I doing?! This is my first time, so I have absolutely no clue what I'm doing. Foam is water soaked near the transom, so should I rip all of the foam out front to back and have it professionally resprayed? Next question is for the decking, I know I'm going to be using marine grade plywood but what do I do to it? I've read that I can paint or water seal it, but I was told if I wanted to do it right, not to do that and resin it. If I resin it, which i probably will, what do I buy? Next onto carpeting...should I have the carpet pre-cut and lay it before the resin is dry. or wait and glue it down? Any input would be greatly appreciated! Tips, tricks, and pointers are welcome!

Thanks in advance,

MwBowhunter

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner