Questions on inslalling bellows (adhesiveness and other properties)

babikov

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi,

I am preparing for installing the bellows (first time, I am a newbie) and I have a concern about adhesive.

I got a tube of OEM Bellows Adhesive (Quicksilver) and tried to experiment with it on a piece of rubber (similar to the bellows rubber). I found that it dries fast, and, I am not particularly impressed with its adhesiveness to the surface.

My first fear is that with these properties, when I will attempt to slide the bellows onto the metal fitting, the adhesive will simply prevent the sliding process (which, according to the many posts I have read, is not a simple thing to do). My second fear is that in the process of tight sliding this compound will simply roll into balls, out of the surfaces where it is supposed to stay (again, due to the properties I observed experimenting with it).

Is this really the most convenient compound for the job? Not from the price perspective, but from the point of view of a newbie, who will need more time and can make mistakes during the installation?? And the quality of the bond, of course?

For example, I used 3M Marine Adhesive Sealant 5200 (white, permanent) on several other projects (for the boat, but also repairing the snorkeling mask etc.). This staff needs one week to completely set, giving enough time for an experimenter like me to finish the job (waiting for a week is not a problem, there is still some ice floating in Lake Michigan, well, almost?). At the end it adheres pretty well. Did anyone use this, or other similar adhesives, more friendly that the OEM compound? Does anyone have experience or opinion about this?