Powertune having no affect on rpm when sprayed into lower carb. Is this normal?

exlration

Cadet
New to the forum and hoping someone might be able to shed some light on my experience with this motor. I have a 1996 force 120 ELPT mounted on a 96 Astro S-18FS. (about 1400lbs) I've had it on the lake twice and I'm getting 39mph at full throttle (trimmed) using an aluminum 13x21p prop with rpm right around 4900. 9max rpm is 5250) I'm not sure if that's normal or not. I've read others running upwards of 50mph with similar setups. Anyway, the other day I decided to run a can of powertune through the carbs and as I sprayed into the lower carb it had no affect at all on rpm. I could have sprayed that stuff in there all day long without stopping and it wouldn't have lowered the rpm whatsoever. Spraying the upper carb acted normally by lowering the rpm and eventually killing the motor. I wouldn't think this is normal but I have very little experience with 2 stroke engines. Also while using the fast idle lever and running the rpm around 2000 after several seconds the rpm will shoot up to 4000 and then a few seconds later go even higher to 5000 where I have to lower the lever as to not over rev the motor. I'm not sure if these two things are related but my instinct tells me something is not right. I'm hoping someone can shed some light on this and point me in the right direction. Thanks!

SkiDad

Lieutenant Commander
i would think you should be hitting higher than 39mph with a 21 pitch prop - i can do that with a 17 pitch and our boats weigh similar.

i do think something is going on with bottom carb - probably fuel mixture is off and you are doing OK when the larger jets open up when running wide open. I think the initial setting is 1 turn out from lightly seated - if that doesn't help you might need to clean and rebuild the carbs.

gm280

Supreme Mariner
:welcome: extration to iboats. Great to have you aboard with us...