Pontoon stability in rough water?

AGUS

Cadet
I'm new to pontoons. I have a 24 footer that I'm converting to a inclement weather party boat (clear vinyl enclosure). Some of the places I'd like to explore are big lakes 5 - 10 miles across. There is a possibility that even if going out on a beautiful day, wind could come up and waves could get rough.

My question is. What kind of waves and wind are too much for this boat? I mean with reasonable comfort. I'm basically a fair weather boater.

I have a 50 HP Force and am planning to add a small kicker to keep the noise down while just slow cruising. There will usually be 4 people or less onboard and minimum gear, so weight is not a factor.

Thanks
Aaron

HotTommy

Lieutenant Junior Grade
I have a 24' two log boat with a 150 HP outboard and a large, fixed metal top. I normally use it on a lake that is no more than 2 miles wides and it does fine even on windy days. But, I took it for a week long trip to a large bay in Florida that is more like the size you want to explore. It was windy (25 MPH) several days and the water was uncomfortably rough. The good news is that the boat was very stable if you paid attention to the direction of the waves and didn't run parallel to them. The bad news is that at the speed I was running to traverse the open water (about 15 MPH), everything got wet from the spray. I also had the nose dig in to waves once or twice and throw a wall of water onto the deck. .... My biggest concern about your boat is the vinyl enclosure. That will allow a strong wind to push it like a sailboat. It could also make docking a challenge on windy days. I think your 50 HP motor is strong enough to deal with it, but if a strong wind is in your face, you could see your top speed drop by half. .... I wouldn't take it out if the winds were forecast to be much above 20 MPH.

ahicks

Captain