OMC King Cobra 460

BlowHo

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I just bought a Reinell 239 RXL with the above motor. The boat sat without running for an unspecified amount of time and it was defeintely in the salt. I am brand new to I/O engines, however I am fairly adept with automotive engines. I have already discovered there are differences.

My questions are:
Is there a "best" manual to cover the motor, outdrive, hydraulics, etc etc for this boat?

There is standing water in the intake, it appears rusty/dirty, I dried it off but I was wondering if I could use an automotive degreaser and then spray the whole thing off in the engine compartment?

The motor was rebuilt and it has 63 hours on it, should I change all of the fluids? Oil looks good as is.

It has "freshwater cooling", does that mean saltwater does not come in contact with the motor?

There are two holes near the exhaust manifolds that need covers, what are these? The holes are in the back near the transom, I can post a picture if need be.

I am not going to use this in saltwater, is there anything I can use to clean all the salt effectively??

Sorry for the 20 questions, I went from a 10 foot aluminum boat with an electric motor to this beast in 3 moves, I am the ultimate novice.

I did a search with no luck, so feel free to driect me to answers if they already exist. Thanks and comments on the boat in general are appreciated if there are common problems/things to be aware of.

Bill -

BlowHo

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: OMC King Cobra 460

Sorry, standing water on top of intake, not in it.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Is there a "best" manual to cover the motor, outdrive, hydraulics, etc etc for this boat?
Yes, OEM. Since OMC went out of buisness about 10 years ago, ebay is your best bet. There is on guy there that has lots. Hopefully those knowing will post.