NO SPARK: 1963 40hp Johnson Model RDS-25D. Please feel the pain

E_Man

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi,<br /><br />First of all a big thanks for helping out. I have some knowledge with motors, as I have changed one or two before.<br /><br />Problem:<br />I bought this boat and motor a couple of days ago. The previous owner specified that the motor ran beautifully about 3 years ago, but has not been run ever since.<br /><br />The motor turns over, but does not spark. I was told to check the coils for corrosion/rust. I spent the whole day removing the cover, and flywheel. When I removed the coils I discovered that the connection to the spark wires was VERY rusy, preventing conduction. I cleaned the pins throughly and tested them with a vom to make sure they are conducting. Unfortunately, this did not help! What else should I do? Is there any way to check the condtion of the coils (resistance/voltage/current/etc) with a vom? The coils have 3 leads: Green, Black, and the spark plug wires.<br /><br />I was told to check the kill switch, but I don't know how exactly the wiring is supposed to be. I also heard that I should inspect the stator (whatever that part is, I suspect its the part in the black box inside the boat that sits between the positive lead running to the battery and the positive lead running to the engine), but I don't know what values (voltage/resistance/etc) to check for. <br /><br />Perhaps the coils are not getting any power. My opinion (not that it matters) is that there is a protection measure (like a kill switch) that is being activated preventing the coils from getting the power needed to spark. What else I can do to correctly and quickly diagnose?<br /><br />Can anyone PLEASE help me out with my problem. I am willing to call YOU long-distance to make this convenient. I will be checking my e-mail often so please feel free to send me a message with your phone number, or help out on the forum.<br /><br />Best Regards,<br /><br />Eyal.

byacey