Newbie with Question about '92 Force 120hp

MikeyB3649

Seaman Apprentice
Hello everyone!

First off, let me start by saying I'm very new to boating. I recently inherited a 1992 Bayliner Capri 1800 BR from my uncle and am in the process of getting it water worthy, since it's been sitting for the last 3 years. While performing the "Awaking a Sleeping Outboard" post, I came across a number of issues. I have since done my research on this forum and feel that I have a good grasp on what's going on and how to fix these issues, but still felt it pertinent to run it by the "pros" for peace of mind.

• I can't get the engine to turn over at starting speed with the spark plugs installed. I know for a fact that I have a dead battery, so I by passed it and used my charger in the "12v Start" setting with the cables hooked directly to the starter itself. When I did this with the plugs installed, the starter engages and turns the engine very slowly. I removed the spark plugs and the engine rotates at starting speeds with no issue. This leads me to believe that the starter is on its way out and no longer has the power to fight the compression. One concern I have, however, is that the charger isn't putting enough amps and is in essence acting like a dead battery. I'm not sure what the output rating of the charger is though. So my plan is to pull my car up alongside the engine tonight and use my car battery to jump the engine and see if it can turn it over with plugs installed. If it does start, I'll just get a new battery and hopefully be done with that issue. If it still rotates slowly, I plan to open the starter and inspect the components and rebuild if necessary.

Does this sound like a logical plan of attack? Any other suggestions or advice that I have not considered? What should I look for specifically when inspecting the starter? What should I replace inside the starter?