Newbie. Any words of advice?

Uraijit

Banned
Hey guys, this is my first post, though I've been reading the forum since August when I bought my first boat.

It's a 1981 Sea Ray 195 with a Mercruiser 350 engine. I'm brand new to boating, so I've got lots to learn. The boat was purchased with a seized engine.

The story the guy told me was that he had the outdrive rebuilt, and the dealer reinstalled it improperly, there was a water leak. He took the boat back, and they re-set the outdrive and fixed the leak. The didn't replace the bilge plug though.

Einstein didn't bother to do his pre-startup checks, and failed to notice the missing plug before taking it out for a week on the lake. After launching and driving it across the lake, while unloading their houseboat at the beach to set up camp, the boat took on a considerable amount of water. They came back and discovered their sinking boat in time to save it. The owner sent his wife across the lake to locate a plug, while he stayed behind with his finger in the hole al la Little Dutch Boy.

When the wife came back an hour later with a plug, he installed it, but without pumping/bailing out the bilge, decided to drive it back across the lake to get it up on a trailer to drain in.

Apparently the engine was semi-submerged, and the engine got water in the oil, seizing the engine. He decided he didn't want to invest the money to replace the engine in a 26 year-old boat, and instead sold it to me for $1200.

I plan on pulling a pre-'87 350 chevy truck engine, and marinizing it. I'll probably just leave the truck cam in, but will change over the following:

Head Gaskets -- Felpro (no steel)
Freeze Plugs
Oil Pan
Distributor
Starter
Water Pump
Harmonic Balancer
Valve covers
Alternator
Intake/Carbs
Gasket set

Am I missing anything? I'm a total newbie to boats. I worked for a few years as an automotive mechanic, so I dig engines pretty well. I don't, however, know the first thing about outdrives, etc.