New to boats and confused

BryanJK

Recruit
Hey yall,

I'm brand new to boats. I've been on a couple but never owned one or spent much time around them. My girlfriend and I decided we'd like to buy an older (70's-80's) fish and ski type boat to fix up as a project together and enjoy together once it's lake ready. We live in Central Texas and would be using it to enjoy our local lakes and rivers. Neither of us ski, but I love to fish. I'd prefer a bass boat but she wants one with nice comfy seats to "lounge" on and cruise around relaxing with friends.

Anyways, I've been reading the forums here for a couple weeks trying to get a better understanding of things before I go looking at boats. We're looking for one in the $500-$1000 range knowing full well that will mean a lot of work and money needed to get it safe and ready for the water. But we're up for the challenge and look forward to having a common interest project to share. I have been cruising the craigslist adds in that price range to see what kind of work typically would be needed for a boat in that range. We aren't scared at all of refinishing the interior, and I'm a mechanic so engine/drive work doesn't scare me as long as I can find a manual (never done any marine work). What does make me nervous is the structural integrity and making sure all is good on that front. I've read about several folks having to redo stringers, transoms and hull work. To be honest, being so new, I'm a little confused about these. I understand what the stringers and transom are, but us there a way to check and make sure they are in good shape while looking at boats for sale? If there are soft spots in the floor is that generally a clue that something worse is going on underneath or just that the floor would need to be replaced?