New resto project, new to boating, need manuals and control advice

AKPilotnboatman

Seaman Apprentice
Hello! This is a great site and I am looking forward to gaining more knowledge and contributing to an exciting community.

Here is the boat:
1968 (I think) Penn Yan Explorer (I think) 20.5'
Mercruiser 160 stern drive with inline 6 GM block.
Serial No. 2221729 so it is a pretty early model from what I have gathered

Ok. Where to start.

I bought this boat in the blind for a pretty good deal and for a specific task. It has practically no interior other than wood and fiberglass frame. Most wires on the engine or connected as I got it running the other day after some tlc. I have and will have a million questions, but I am new to this so I am trying to condense. My apologies. The wires on the control/guage side have been detached and it looks like somebody wired it before and did a poor job to begin with. So I have a main black pin style harness with the starting and ignition wires (all i know for sure so far), and another exposed harness, which could be aftermarket?

So the engine runs. I flushed it out and it seemed to work, but I still need a thermostat test and I question the neoprene impeller. Hydraulics work to my surprise, and the trim button.

Here is where i am now:

I have the single knob old style mercontrol throttle/shift lever. It is not hooked up yet and there is a couple wires coming out, in addition to the two cables. Can I assume the cables are for throttle and shifting? And what are the wires?

I also am trying to figure out how to put this all together so I can water test it, and then worry about fabricating an interior for my needs, which will hopefully be fishing and exploring, with some leisure.

Not sure what else to say, but I did come across an aewsome manual on boatinfo.no but it vanished and I cannot find another one physical or digital.