Need Help locating any information on Newman boats

rdean72

Recruit
Hello,

I am brand new to boating and probably have bitten of more than I can chew. I have been going through the restores on this site and it is scarring me..lol
I bought a 1978 16' Newman Boat and I am trying to find any information on parts, owners manuals, wiring diagrams, maint manuals and parts suppliers. I am not having much luck finding anything about Newman Boats. If anyone has any information on this boat I would appreciate any info that you can give. Does the manufacturer still exist? Did a mainstream Boat Manufacturer buy them out?

Details:
1978 Newman 16'; Make: OLYB; Manufacturers ID number: MOZA92014854; Model Number: BT142; 140HP Mercruiser Model MCM140

Any direction to forums on maint manual, wiring diagrams for the engine and drive would be great as well.
Thank you

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner
Re: Need Help locating any information on Newman boats

To be honest, it is highly unlikely you will find any documentation on the boat. However, there is plenty available for your motor and drive which is what's most important anyway. Throw a post up in the Mercruiser section and they'll tell you where to find it. As far as know Newman isn't around anymore. You have a reputable powerplant in there with good parts support. As long as the boat isn't rotted, you should be in good shape.

haulnazz15

Captain

Newman boats were of decent quality, I learned to ski behind one as a child. A 17' tri hull bass boat with a 90HP Johnson SeaHorse. It wasn't the prettiest boat (dark tan hull with brown interior) but it was definitely solid. I never had any experience with their I/O setups, but at that age, it's all about the overall condition/care from the owner and whether or not the transom/stringers are still solid. A great boat for a beginner though if everything else checks out on it.

rdean72

Recruit