Mercury 90 Multiple problems

pepperjackdaisy

Recruit
Hi all. Just "married into" a 2003 Mercury 90 ELPTO that has been neglected for a few years. I'm a self-taught mechanically-minded guy, but by no means formally trained. Tinkering with old BMW's is my hobby, and have done a motor swap with the help of many online diy forums, so I can say my knowledge is above average. My only experience with 2 stroke motors is cranking the weed eater and chainsaw. The boat is running terrible at the moment. Here's where I started...

Originally, idling all over the place, too high, too low, surging, smoking, stalling, etc.
Removed and cleaned carbs, new plugs, new fuel filter, rebuilt fuel pump, replaced a couple of fuel lines, new primer bulb, fresh gas in tank.
Compression test, all 3 cylinders within 2 psi, 112-114.

and where I am now...

After all was completed, at first start, it was idling at 2000. I have bottomed out the main "idle adjustment" screw to get the idle down to manageable, but its still at 1000. Under load in water, it drops to around 700-800. This doesn't seem right, as the screw is literally bottomed out, can't turn it any more. Carbs are set 1.5 turns out from lightly seated.

Now I am getting a strange backfire every 10-20 seconds, sending a puff of smoke out from somewher behind the starter. This happens at any rpm. I'm at a loss. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I have searched this forum and google using different word combinations and terms, but can't seem to find any information on this problem.

enginepower

Petty Officer 1st Class