Mercrusier 350 MAG MPI - RPM issue under a load

wbas1

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am looking for some help on an issue I have been working on for a few months and it has kicked my butt. I have a Mercrusier 350 MAG MPI rebuilt block. The motor at idle has no issue reaching 4k+ RPM's. The issue I am having is when I try to get the boat on a plan, I cannot get the motor above 3k and it will not plan. All of the trouble shooting I have been done was with a 5 Gallon tank of gas.
-Fuel pressure at the rail is 38psi. When I disconnect the vacuum at the rail, pressure goes to 43psi. When I disconnect the vacuum from the High pressure pump the fuel pressure reaches close to 50psi.
- Acceleration at the dock is perfect. I understand that is because there is no load and does not require much fuel.
- Bravo III outdrive 2 to 1 ratio
- Fuel cool setup
-Duo Pro 20 Pitch - In good condition

Items that have been replaced
  1. Map Sensor
  2. IAC
  3. TPS
  4. Distributor/Cap (Flat Cap)/Plugs & Wires
  5. Coil & ICM
  6. Temp Sensor
  7. High & Low Fuel pumps
  8. Water Separator - No water present
  9. Cleaned Throttle body
  10. ECM for 5.7 closed cooling
  11. Fuel Pressure Regulator at the rail
Any help is greatly appreciated

For some reason the original motor had an ECM for a 6.2 Bravo where I was able to get the boat on a plan only when I disconnected the MAP sensor. I was told by mercury that was because it put the ECM in a loop and was using a default program. They recommended that I get the correct ECM for my motor. That is why I have a new ECM installed.

QBhoy

Fleet Admiral
What boat is she trying to push ? Was the cap and rotor replaced recently? What plugs do you have in her ?

itsathepete

Petty Officer 1st Class